The Snowy Hill

Today’s poem is one I wrote last year, not long after I wrote “May Death I Slay.” But whereas I focused mostly on the rhyme scheme of “May Death I Slay,” I focused on the rhythm of this piece.

***

When day had turned to dreary night,

Full moon did rise above the hill.

I watched as shadows grew in size,

While snowy pillow gave me a chill.

 

Untouched by man or beast as yet

The chaotic world is tamed.

Clean slate is given to the world,

No longer must we be shamed.

 

I stared at him, and he stared at me,

We, who had once been the other’s enemy.

Hope did rise into his eyes,

That we could live in harmony.

***

Once again, I’m late with a blog post, and I apologize for making a habit out of this. I promise to try and post every single day from now on, at least until school starts. When that happens, I’ll be insanely busy with homework and regular work and writing work, and my blog might have to fall a bit to the wayside. Priorities, unfortunately.

I’ll definitely still be posting at least once a week, on Wednesdays, because I’ve got a whole arsenal of writing prompts to give you guys. Beyond that, when I have time to post, I will. You should at least have a few book reviews from me. A poem or two per month, perhaps. We’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

