July 2016 Monthly Wrap-Up

It’s been a busy month for me, what with Camp NaNoWriMo and work and blogging daily. But I’m excited to say that today I’m going to do my first-ever monthly wrap-up post.

Blog News

During July, with the start of the daily blogging, I ended up having to create more categories in the main menu. There is now Link Lists, Poetry, Writing Prompts, Flash Fiction, Friday Updates, Reviews (with the Book Review and Storyline Reflections subsets), and Uncategorized (where the Sunday posts usually go.)

My total likes are now up to 286, and I currently have a total of 46 followers. Thank you guys! You’re the best.

Also, the post “Five Links to Help with World-Building,” was my 100th published post.

Writing News

After chipping away at my novella for a whole month (missing a few days, doubling my word goals to make up for it), I finished Legacies. Let me tell you, it’s a hot mess, but I’ve already started to jot down things that need fixing in the next draft.

As for Dire Fate, well… I’ve recently joined Scribophile, an online site where other authors can critique your work (and you critique theirs). You critique people’s work to earn karma points, and after earning so many, you can post your own work for critique. The prologue was posted, and good comments were made, and now chapter 1 is up and waiting for critique.

I’m currently working on finishing chapter 3.

July’s Most Popular Posts, by Category

Link Lists: A tie between 5 Sites for Character Creation and Five Links to Help with World-Building, with 6 likes each

Poetry: To Be a Phoenix in the Sky, with 10 likes

Writing Prompts: Writing Prompt: Four Words, with 5 likes

Flash Fiction: Another tie, between The Honor Code of a Thief and Accomplice, with 5 likes each.

Friday Updates: Yet another tie, between The Problem With Series and Outlining: Your Novel’s Road Map, with 2 likes each.

Reviews: A Darker Shade of Magic (Shades of Magic #1), with 9 likes

Uncategorized: A final tie, between Why I Love Fantasy and Feel the Love in YA Books, with 3 likes each.

Books Read

A Darker Shade final for Irene

I finished and reviewed a Darker Shade of Magic by V.E.Schwab on July 9th.

23437156

I also finished and reviewed Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo on July 20th.

7137327

Finally, I attempted to reread, but did not finish, Enclave by Ann Aguirre.

Currently, I’m reading A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab.

Book to Read for August

22299763

Crooked Kingdom, book 2 of Six of Crows, by Leigh Bardugo

3428935

The Warded Man, book 1 of the Demon Cycle, by Peter V. Brett

49628

Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell

Also on my list are: The Wolves of Mercy Falls series and the Raven Cycle series by Maggie Stiefvater, but I doubt I’ll have time to get to them this month.

Leave a Reply

