Book Review: Cress (Lunar Chronicles #3)

Mild spoilers ahead.

Cover:

13206828
Image source: Goodreads

Synopsis:

“Even in the future. there are damsels in distress…

“In the third installment of the Lunar chronicles, Cress, having risked everything to warn Cinder of Queen Levana’s evil plan, has a slight problem. She’s been imprisoned on a satellite since childhood and has only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress a great hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

“When a daring rescue of Cress involving Cinder, Captain Thorne, Scarlet, and Wolf goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes as a high price. Meanwhile, Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.”

So, onto the story!

What I liked:

  • As usual, the characters are phenomenal. Their character arc is believable and beautiful. If you look back on Cinder and Scarlet and the rest from the previous books, all of the main characters have changed.
  • Cinder gets a few new members in her gang, one of which is Jacin. I love his personality. He still can’t compare to Wolf or Thorne, of course, but I still love his interactions with Cinder and the rest of their gang. (Speaking of Wolf, he really broke my heart in this book, but we won’t dwell on that.)
  • I found Meyer’s description of the mind-control thing to be well-written. It was almost eery, which I think was kind of the point.
  • I am not afraid to admit that I relate to Cress on a personal level. She and I think very much alike. Also, in terms of character voice, Cress’s is perfectly consistent. I think the other characters have a unique voice as well, but Cress’s is very distinct considering her different upbringing, and Meyer makes sure to remind us of that over and over again. I admire an author who can tackle the voices of several different characters like that.
  • And, as you can’t just ignore the story’s villain:  I love how Levana is such an easy character to hate. I am curious why she’s so fixated on ruling Earth, but I have a feeling we’ll get more information on that front later.

Some very minor things I haven’t made up my mind about:

  • There is a certain scene where events may or may not happen because Plot requires it to happen that way, BUT there is a plausible explanation (mainly, it’s a tense, adrenaline-rushed situation where there isn’t really time to overthink things) and I’m willing to give the author benefit of the doubt.
  • A certain parentage was revealed in the climax, under stressful circumstances. I didn’t actually hate this, I’m just not sure how I feel.

I was not disappointed with Cress. For most of the story, it was difficult to put the book down. I found it just as enjoyable this time around as I did the first time. It gets a 5 star rating from me.

Leave a Reply

