Writing Prompt #5

Here’s an interesting one. I feel like you can go so many directions with this, too. So if you’re feeling inspired, write down a response to it in the comments below!

The source for today’s writing prompt originates (as far as I can tell) from this tumblr post.

Writing prompt

Once upon a time, in a far away kingdom, a knight was ordered by the king to lock up the princess in the highest reaches of the tallest tower. It was for her own safety; these were troubled times. Known for causing trouble, as females are wont to be, the princess was warned from the start not to cause trouble. And the princess complied.

They traveled by day and camped by night. The first day, mountains rose in the distance. Two days later, the mountains much larger now thanks to proximity, they reached the high tower. The princess followed the knight up into the tall tower, and hardly even protested when he locked the door behind him.

There was a window in the room, and the princess watched as the knight galloped away on his horse, back to the king who probably needed every man he had.

Once the knight was out of sight, the princess grinned. And immediately started to throw the room into a chaotic disrepair.

Meanwhile, a dragon awoke from his deep slumber within a cavern not far off. He’d heard the soft tremblings of two horses’ hoof beats. Deciding he could use a quick meal, the dragon slithered out of his cavern, and vaulted into the air. The moment he was out of the mountains, however, he noticed that a new smell was coming from the abandoned high tower. A human scent, likely a girl’s from what he could tell.

Curious, he decided to investigate the matter. The dragon collided with the tower wall, next to one of the few windows, and heard a startled cry. He stuck his head into the window, and saw, to his ultimate surprise, a young princess dressed in odd clothing. She stared at him with wide eyes.

Deciding that the knights were up to their old tricks again, the dragon gave her a friendly grin, and reached a clawed paw through the window. She yelped as he wrapped his fingers around her and pulled her out.

“Let me down this instant!” She declared, brandishing a knife that amounted to little more than a toothpick to the dragon.

“Calm down, little princess. You looked in need of rescuing,” he rumbled, pushing off of the tower so he could set her down on the ground. She didn’t say a word until they landed, suddenly quite afraid.

But when they did land, she jammed a finger into the dragon’s nose. “In case you hadn’t noticed, I was doing just fine on my own. I was about to let myself out.

“I apologize, little princess,” he said. “Although I think I still deserve something of a thank you. My rescue was likely faster and safer than whatever you had planned.”

“I had it under control.”

The dragon gave her a small grin, deciding that he liked this spunky princess. “Can I fly you anywhere, as a way of making up for my most insufferable mistake?”

The princess seemed uncertain if he was making fun of her or not. But eventually she said, “I could use a ride back to my castle. Enemies are coming to take our lands, and Father needs my help even if he doesn’t know it.”

“You? Fight in a war?” The dragon said incredulously.

She scowled at him, then turned heel and stalked away from the dragon.

The dragon rushed after her. “My apologies, once again, little princess. I’ll fly you to the fight against your enemy, if you wish. I’ll even help you fight against them.”

She looked at him dubiously. “You’d do that? Why?”

The dragon shrugged. “I haven’t been in a good fight in years. Besides, I could use a snack.”

The princess paled for a moment. Then she surprised him by grinning. “Okay,” she said. “Then let’s fly.”

Leave a Reply

