No Time For Play Time

First of all, I’d just like to thank everyone for keeping up with my blog. For the first few months, I got hardly any traffic and had zero followers. I still don’t have a whole lot of followers, and that’s fine. I’m not in a huge rush or anything. But The Mad Chronicler is growing, and I have no one else to thank for that but you.

No Time For Play Time

As for a summary of my week, well… I’ve had worse. As you probably know, if you follow me on twitter, I am reading Infinite Jest. It’s one of my many class assignments. I’m also reading Chaucer’s Canterbury Tales, in its original middle English form. Simply put, there’s a lot of reading going on.

Because of just how time-consuming it all is, I’ll admit that I’ve been lagging behind on writing. And I am trying to get through a decently-short book called the Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern (which I hope to do a book review on in the near future). It’s been two weeks, and I’m less than halfway through it. I’m not used to going through books this slow.

But as a person who takes her studies very seriously, I’m trying to figure out that balance. Should I work constantly on my constantly-massive homework pile? Or should I take a break every once in a while to watch an episode of a TV show, or to read a chapter of a fun book, just for the sake of my sanity?

I’ve been toying around with my schedule, trying to see what works and what doesn’t. At the beginning of the year, I tried to do homework the day that it was due. (I have Monday/Wednesday/Friday classes and Tuesday/Thursday classes.) But, invariably, I’d have an overload of homework, for example, for a MWF class, and I’d end up doing it on Tues/Thurs, when I was supposed to be doing my Tues/Thurs class homework. So I’d do my Tues/Thurs homework on MWF. It’s a mess, I know. Recently, I decided to try splitting up all of my homework over the course of the whole week.

Need to read a chapter of Book X? Divide the number of pages in the chapter by 7, and just read a little bit each day. I have no idea how it’s going to work out. The whole point is to make my life a little less stressful, to hopefully make more time for my writing, because I’m starting to get SERIOUSLY far behind.

Which is just about as unacceptable as getting behind/not completing homework, for me.

Anyway, that’s all I have for today, except for a few quick announcements:

Just as a FYI, Sunday’s Fantasy Tropes post will finally start getting into the elements of ‘real’ fantasy. I’m going to start by going over the more common mythological beings. Dragons, dwarves, elves, etc. If there are any elements that you’d be curious about hearing in future posts, let me know in the comments below. (After dragons, etc., I will be talking about magic, though, never you fear.)

And, finally, I’ve got dozens and dozens of writing prompts collected for the Wednesday’s Writing Prompts posts, but if you have any suggestions, feel free to put them in the comments.

Leave a Reply

