Swamped.

Swamped

Wow. What a week. As I fight to stay on top of the ever-increasing pile of homework, keeping up with my writing quota, my blog and twitter posts, and my sleep schedule has become quite a challenge. Quite frankly, I’m relieved that it’s Friday. I have plenty to keep me busy this weekend, even with MLK day off, but at least I can get up in my own time.

Still, this is a week of firsts, and despite the challenges that came along with it, I’m proud to say I’m now a little more experienced in life. I’ve survived my first week of eight a.m. classes, for one thing. Despite considering myself an early bird (and I still think I am, compared to the rest of my family), I’m no longer used to having to get up that early. It’ll take some getting used to. Secondly, I can now say I’ve driven in snow. It wasn’t terrible snow, but there was still quite a bit of it on the roads. I won’t say it was terrifying, because it wasn’t. But it was very unpleasant. I respect people who can do that on a daily basis.

Anyway, it’s only been one week in, and my professors have already distracted me in class by providing some inspiration I could use towards my book. Okay, so it’s not exactly a terrible distraction, but I will admit, I do feel a bit guilty every time I take my focus off of class so I can write down something book-related. I’m there to learn, after all.

We’re reading Beowulf (and, no, I’ve never read it before), and their blood-feud-honor system put a name to something similar I’d been trying to get at (without even realizing) in my own work. There was also a question posed in another class- how do we view time: linear or circular? (I think of it as more… wibbly wobbly, timey wimey, but of course I didn’t say that in class.) Naturally, it made me wonder how my own characters viewed time, and if that sort of philosophical thinking might have an impact – however slight – on their person. Something my writing partner and I will likely discuss at some point in the near future. In any case, my point is: take inspiration where you can get it.

Regardless of my busy schedule, I have been able to keep up with my writing goal. I’ve created a NaNoWriMo-esque graph to keep track of my word count using Google Spreadsheets. You can see my current progress in the graph below (a screenshot, as of 10:45 p.m. on January 15).

Word Count - mid January

My writing goal was 786 words per day. A weird number, I know, but that’s how many words I must write every day in order to finish this draft by April 30th. And, as you know, after the draft is finished, I’ll finally be doing another first: letting people read it. As you can tell from the graph, I’m doing spectacularly. I’m actually about 2 day’s worth of writing ahead of schedule, but I’m still writing every day, because it’s good practice.

Well, that’s all I have for today. I guess I’ll just end the Friday post as usual:

Weekly Writing Tip #3

Leave a Reply

