Writing Prompt 1

The best way to get better at writing is to practice. So on Wednesdays, I’m going to pick a prompt that I’ve found on the internet, and I’ll respond to it. Feel free to do the same in the comments below! Here’s today’s prompt.

Week 1
Source HERE

The air was thick, so thick I felt like I was swimming in it. I cowered under the shadow of the tree, pressing my back firmly against its trunk, but it didn’t help. The water kept slipping from the leaves of the branches above me, tumbling down like the tree didn’t think they were good enough to hold on to. As if the water droplets weren’t the very things keeping the tree alive.

But that was life, I supposed. You go about your day, trying to do some good in the world, and all people ever seem to do is use you and cast you aside. And you keep on trying anyway, as the rain keeps falling. Which was why I was out here, in the middle of a storm, getting drenched for my efforts.

The sky, a bruised color, lit up for one brief moment, and fell back to darkness. A raindrop fell, splashing against my cheek, and I laughed at myself. Then the ground shook, and the wind took on a whole new fervor, and I found myself clenching my fists even tighter.

What are you even doing out here, I thought to myself. It was stupid, because I was making this journey for my family, and they probably wouldn’t even say thank you when I got back. But, as much as it shamed me to admit, I needed to help people like the tree needed that water. And, after trying for so long to deny that part of me and failing, I knew there really wasn’t much I could do about it.

So I huddled up even closer to the tree trunk, and braced myself for the rest of the storm.

Leave a Reply

