A Friendly Update

I know, I know, it’s Thursday. Normally, I would wait to post this until tomorrow, but on Friday I’ll be on a 3 hour road trip to visit my family so I’ll either be too busy to post, or I’ll forget. So I figured I’ll just go ahead and post today.

I guess I’ll start with my big project.

So, awhile back, I realized that there was a lot of information about this world that my series takes place in. Rules of magic, information about characters, plants and animals that may or may not be found on earth… All of that needed to be put down someplace. And, while I can generally deal with a messy desk, I cannot stand a messy laptop, with files everywhere and not where they’re supposed to be. That transferred into our first unofficial website. Now, I did it on a website (a private Google Sites one) so that my writing partner and I could both access the information whenever we needed to.

Originally, it had been very neat. And, I mean, it kind of still is, at least in regards to being able to find everything easily. But it looks cluttered, and I hate clutter. Also, our series has grown a lot since I first made the site, and my writing partner and I intend to make the amount of information grow very soon, during a videochat we intend to do after the holidays. We’ve already created an entire 5-page list of questions that we want to answer because, while we do know a fair amount about our world, we don’t really know about its peoples’ cultures and the like, which is very important. With Book 1 getting closer and closer to being ready to be published,  it’s time we bring together all those questions we’d originally put aside, and start answering them.

And with all this new information we’re going to have, I wanted a new site that would be less cluttered than the first. It is a massive undertaking. We are basically just taking a badly-drawn map and creating an entire world. Cultures, politics, populations, rules of magic, geography and major landmarks, etc. It’s a lot of information to figure out and put down. But I’m confident my new site will be able to handle it. And it’ll be beautiful to boot.

So, I’m just going to go ahead and say it: Book 1 is titled “Dire Fate”. I didn’t want to post it earlier, simply because I hadn’t been sure if we were going to change it. We still might, but I’m pretty sure the name is here to stay.

I’m not quite as far along on the editing as I’d like to be, but I’m slowly working through it, and I’ll probably still be done in time for the New Year. I should say this: Thanks to my November break, I’ve been able to see Dire Fate with a new, critical eye. As I go through the editing, I’ve been pointing out possible plot holes, offering suggestions how to fix them, highlighting whenever a character doesn’t sound like themselves. Still, despite all of that, I’ve also been able to see its strengths (which, for me, can sometimes be harder than seeing its weaknesses, so I’m not exactly biased on the matter). Yes, it still needs some work, but it’s so close to being ready. I really think it is.

One final thing: I’ve posted this on my Twitter already, but I’ll put it here as well. I am experimenting (again), this time on a site called Wattpad. If you don’t know, it’s basically a site where people can put up their stories and people read them. I think it’s mostly known for fanfic and romance, but that’s not all that’s there. I may be posting short stories, but I don’t have a lot of those because I’ve never been fond of short stories and I’m too busy writing my novel. However, I will be posting some poetry on there. So far, I’ve only got one collection, which you can find by clicking on the link here

Leave a Reply

